Mitchell County, Iowa Basics:

Mitchell County Iowa - Government Site

Population: 10,727
Area: 469 square miles
County seat: Osage
Area code(s) in use: 641
Time zone: CST
High school graduate or higher: 91.0%
Bachelor's degree or higher: 14.8%
Median household income: $50,574
Persons in poverty: 7.1%
Home ownership rate: 82.4%
Mean travel time to work: 17.7 minutes

Adjacent counties:
Cerro Gordo  Chickasaw  Floyd  Freeborn (MN)  Howard  Mower (MN)  Worth  

Find in Iowa

Map of the Mitchell County area

Our detail map of Mitchell County shows the Mitchell County, Iowa boundary lines and other interesting items.

Places in Mitchell County, Iowa

  Airports     show all on map

Osage Municipal Airport

  Bridges     show all on map

Highway Number Nine Bridge, Little Cedar River Bridge, Otranto Bridge

  Buildings     show all on map

Cedar Valley Memories Museum, East Lincoln Townhall, McIntire City Hall, Mitchell County Ambulance Service, Mitchell County Courthouse, Mitchell County Home, Mitchell County Sheriffs Office, Nissen Public Library, Osage City Hall, Osage Fire Department, Osage Police Department, Osage Public Library, Riceville Ambulance Service Incorporated, Riceville City Hall, Riceville Community Center, Riceville Fire Department, Riceville Library, Saint Ansgar City Hall, Saint Ansgar City Police Department, Saint Ansgar Fire Department, Saint Ansgar Rescue Service, Stacyville Fire Department, Stacyville Public Library

  Cemeteries     show all on map

Blakestad Cemetery, Brownville Cemetery, Calvary Cemetery, Calvary Cemetery, Deer Creek Cemetery, Dudley Cemetery, Eden Cemetery, Farley Cemetery, First Lutheran Cemetery, Immanuel Cemetery, Jenkins Township Cemetery, Liberty Cemetery, McKinley Cemetery, NE Lutheran Congregational Carpenter Cemetery, Newburg Cemetery, Oak Grove Cemetery, Ogden Cemetery, Orchard Cemetery, Osage Cemetery, Oscar Peterson Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Cemetery, Priem Cemetery, River View Cemetery, Robbins Cemetery, Rock Creek Evangelical Lutheran Cemetery, Rustad Cemetery, Sacred Heart Cemetery, Sacred Heart Cemetery, Saint Ansgar Cemetery, Saint Johns Cemetery, Saint Patrick Cemetery, Saint Peter Cemetery, Saint Peters Catholic Cemetery, Saint Peters Cemetery, Stacyville Cemetery, Stillwater Cemetery, Toeter Cemetery, Tucker Cemetery, Union Presbyterian Cemetery, Visitation Cemetery, Wayne Cemetery, West End Cemetery

  Census     show all on map

Little Cedar Census Designated Place, Meyer Census Designated Place, Mona Census Designated Place, New Haven Census Designated Place, Otranto Census Designated Place, Toeterville Census Designated Place

  Churches     show all on map

Christian Missionary Church, Church of God and Christ, David Church, Deer Creek Church, Eden Church, First Baptist Church, First Lutheran Church, First United Methodist Church, Immanuel Lutheran Church, Methodist Church, Our Saviours Lutheran Church, Rock Creek Lutheran Church, Sacred Heart Catholic Church, Sacred Heart Church, Saint Ansgar Baptist Church, Saint Ansgar Catholic Church, Saint Johns Church, Saint Johns Church, Saint Peter Lutheran Church, Saint Peters Church, Trinity Lutheran Church, Union Church, United Church of Christ, United Methodist Church, Visitation Church

  Hospitals     show all on map

Advance Chiropractic Clinic, Faith Nursing Home, Mitchell County Health Center, Mitchell County Memorial Hospital, Mitchell County Regional Center, Mitchell County Regional Health Center - Osage, Osage Dental Arts Center, Riceville Community Rest Home, Saint Ansgar Good Samaritan Center, Stacyville Community Nursing Home

  Lakes     show all on map

Markhams Pond, Sleeping Duck Pond

  Locales     show all on map

Acorn Park Golf and Recreation, Bailey (historical), Bennett Access, Carpenter, David (historical), Little Cedar (historical), Little Cedar Co-op Elevator, McIntire (historical), Melrose Pond Access, Mitchell, Mitchell County Fairgrounds, Mona, Nelson, Newburg, Northwood Co-op Elevator, Orchard, Osage, Osage Co-op Elevator, Osage Wastewater Treatment Plant, Otranto, Otranto, Peavey Company Elevator, Saint Ansgar, Stacyville, Stacyville Cooperative Company Elevator, Sunny Brae Golf Club, Toeterville, Town and Country Plaza, Wapsie

  Parks     show all on map

Brownville Wildlife Area, Cedar Block Wildlife Area, Clausen City Park, County 'S' Refuge, Falk Wildlife Area, Gerbigs Woods, Halverson Park, Hamlin Garland Wildlife Area, Interstate Park, Nelson Paradise Wildlife Area, New Haven Potholes, North Haven Wildlife Area, Old Stone Mill Historical Marker, Osage City Park, Osage Spring Park, Otranto Park, Pinicon Alders Wildlife Area, Pioneer State Park, Riverside Park, Student Hamlin Garland Historical Marker, The Dragoons - Mitchell County Historical Marker, Wapsi River Access, Wapsi River Wildlife Area

  Populated Places     show all on map

Bailey, Brownville, Carpenter, Dixie, Little Cedar, McIntire, Meyer, Mitchell, Mona, New Haven, Orchard, Osage, Otranto, Riceville (historical), Rock Creek, Saint Ansgar, Stacyville, Stacyville Junction, Toeterville

  Post Offices     show all on map

Bailey Post Office (historical), Brownville Post Office (historical), Cardiff Post Office (historical), Carpenter Post Office, David Post Office (historical), Dixie Post Office (historical), Doran Post Office (historical), Dramen Post Office (historical), Fuller Post Office (historical), Hustad Post Office (historical), Leoti Post Office (historical), Lincoln Centre Post Office (historical), Little Cedar Post Office (historical), McIntire Post Office, Meroa Post Office (historical), Meyer Post Office (historical), Mitchell Post Office (historical), Nelson Post Office (historical), New Haven Post Office (historical), Newburgh Post Office (historical), North Bend Post Office (historical), Olin Post Office (historical), Orchard Post Office, Osage Post Office, Otranto Post Office (historical), Otranto Post Office (historical), Rock Creek Post Office (historical), Saint Ansgar Post Office, Stacyville Post Office, Stillwater Post Office (historical), Toeterville Post Office (historical), Wapsie Post Office (historical), Wentworth Post Office (historical), West Mitchell Post Office (historical)

  Schools     show all on map

Cedar Valley Seminary (historical), Lincoln Elementary School, Osage High School, Osage Middle School, Sacred Heart School, Saint Ansgar Elementary School, Saint Ansgar High School, Saint Ansgar Middle School, Visitation Elementary School, Washington Elementary School

  Streams     show all on map

Beaver Creek, Burr Oak Creek, Deer Creek, Fish Creek, Otter Creek, Rock Creek, Slough Creek, Spring Creek, Sugar Creek, Turtle Creek, Willow Creek

  Towers     show all on map

KCZY-FM (Osage), KIMT-TV (Mason City), KYIN-TV (Mason City)

  Trails     show all on map

Cedar River Greenbelt Trail,

Mitchell County, Iowa Population By Race (2012 estimate)

WhiteMitchell County White population 10,59810,598  
MixedMitchell County Mixed population 5453
AsianMitchell County Asian population 3232
American IndianMitchell County American Indian population 1110
Hawaiian & Pacific IslanderMitchell County Hawaiian & Pacific Islander population 00

Additional population tables :
State population table
Iowa population by county