Brookings County, South Dakota Basics:

Brookings County South Dakota - Government Site

Population: 32,646
Area: 792 square miles
County seat: Brookings
Area code(s) in use: 605
Time zone: CST
High school graduate or higher: 92.9%
Bachelor's degree or higher: 39.2%
Median household income: $47,093
Persons in poverty: 18.0%
Home ownership rate: 58.9%
Mean travel time to work: 13.9 minutes

Adjacent counties:
Deuel  Hamlin  Kingsbury  Lake  Lincoln (MN)  Moody  Pipestone (MN)  

Find in South Dakota

Map of the Brookings County area

Our detail map of Brookings County shows the Brookings County, South Dakota boundary lines and other interesting items.

Places in Brookings County, South Dakota

  Airports     show all on map

Arlington Municipal Airport, Brookings Regional Airport

  Areas     show all on map

Aurora Prairie

  Buildings     show all on map

Abbott Hall, Agricultural Heritage Museum, Aurora Fire Department, Binnewies Hall, Brookings City Hall, Brookings County Courthouse, Brookings Fire Department, Brookings Public Library, Brookings Township Hall, Brown Hall, Bruce Fire Department, Caldwell Hall, Deubrook Community Library, Doner Auditorium, Elkton City Hall, Elkton Community Ambulance Service, Elkton Community Center, Elkton Community Museum and Historical Society, Elkton Community/School Library, Elkton Fire Department, Fishback Studio Theater, H M Briggs Library, Hansen Hall, Larson Memorial Concert Hall, Mathews Hall, McKnight Community Center, Meadows North Apartments, Meadows South Apartments, Medary Commons, Peterson Recital Hall, Pierson Hall, Preston Township Hall, Roberts Reception Hall, Sinai Fire Department, South Dakota Art Museum, South Dakota State University Bookstore, South Dakota State University Wellness Center, Spencer Hall, State Court Family Housing, State Village Family Housing, Sterling Township Hall, Sylvan Theatre, Thorne Hall, University Student Union, Volga City Auditorium, Volga City Hall, Volga Fire Department, Volstorff Ballroom, Waneta Hall, Wecota Annex, White Ambulance Service, White City Hall, White Volunteer Fire Department, Young Hall

  Cemeteries     show all on map

Bangor Cemetery, Bethania Cemetery, Bethel Cemetery, Bruce Cemetery, Calvary Cemetery, Deer Creek Cemetery, East Sinai Cemetery, Fair View Cemetery, Fairlawn Cemetery, First Lutheran Cemetery, Fountain Cemetery, Greenwood Cemetery, Hillside Cemetery, Lake Campbell Cemetery, Lutheran Cemetery, Oakwood Zion Cemetery, Saint Johns Cemetery, Saint Marys Cemetery, Saint Pauls Cemetery, Saint Petri Cemetery, Sinai Cemetery, Trasta Cemetery, Trinity Cemetery, Trinity Cemetery, Trulock Cemetery

  Churches     show all on map

Lake Campbell Church, Oslo Church, Pioneer Church, Preston Church, Saint Pauls Church, Singsaas Church, Sterling Church, Sterling Church

  Crossings     show all on map

Interchange 127, Interchange 132, Interchange 133, Interchange 140

  Dams     show all on map

UDLH Flood Control Dam

  Hospitals     show all on map

Brookings Health System Center

  Islands     show all on map

Scout Island

  Lakes     show all on map

Bolstad Slough, Brush Lake, Johnson Lake, Lake Goldsmith, Lake Hendricks, Lake Mitchell, Lake Oakwood, Lake Sinai, Lake Tetonkaha, Moe Slough, Mortimer Slough, Nelson Slough, Oak Lake, Oakwood Lakes, Pederson Slough, Round Lake, Turtle Lake

  Locales     show all on map

Argo (historical), Athelwold (historical), Brookings Country Club, Brookings Mall, City Plaza, Coughlin Campanile, Coughlin-Alumni Stadium, Erv Huether Field, Fishback Soccer Park, Fountain (historical), Frost Arena, Grant (historical), Jackrabbit Softball Field, Lake Campbell, Lake Village (historical), Laketon (historical), Oakwood (historical), Prairie Farm (historical), Sexauer Field, South Dakota State University Disc Golf Course, South Dakota State University Rodeo Grounds, University Mall, Village Square

  Parks     show all on map

Hillcrest Park, Lake Hendricks State Recreation Area, Medal of Honor Park, Medary Monument, Oak Lake Girl Scout Camp, Oakwood Lakes State Park, Pioneer Park, Sexauer Park, South Poinsett Access Area

  Plains     show all on map

Coteau des Prairies

  Populated Places     show all on map

Ahnberg, Arlington Beach, Aurora, Brookings, Bruce, Bushnell, Elkton, Medary, Newdale Colony, Norfeld Colony, North Grove Addition, Red Willow Colony, Roland Colony, Sheldon Trailor Town, Sinai, Sundahl Trailer Court, Sunnyview, Volga, White

  Post Offices     show all on map

Aurora Post Office, Brookings Post Office, Bruce Post Office, Elkton Post Office, Sinai Post Office, Volga Post Office, White Post Office

  Reservoirs     show all on map

Lake Campbell

  Schools     show all on map

Academic Evaluation and Assessment Building, Administration Building, Afton District Number 12 School, Afton District Number 13 School, Afton District Number 14 School, Afton District Number 15 School, Agricultural Engineering Building, Alfred Dairy Microbiology Building, American Indian Education and Cultural Center, Animal Disease Research Building, Animal Research Wing, Animal Science Arena, Animal Science Complex, Argo District Number 24 School, Argo District Number 25 School, Argo District Number 26 School, Argo District Number 27 School, Argo District Number 53 School, Avera Health and Science Center, Bailey Rotunda, Berg Agricultural Hall, Brookings High School, Camelot Intermediate School, Communications Center, Crothers Engineering Hall, Davis Dairy Plant, DePuy Military Hall, Deubrook High School, Deubrook Junior High School, Dykhouse Student-Athletic Center, East Headhouse, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Building, Elkton Elementary School, Elkton High School, Elkton Junior High School, Ethel A Martin Building, Foundation Seed Conditioning Building, Fountain School, G S Mickelson Middle School, Grove Hall, Harding Hall, Hillcrest School, Horticulture and Forestry Building, Horticulture Greenhouse, Industrial Arts Building, Intramural Building, Larson Commons, Lincoln Music Hall, Medary Elementary School, Newdale Colony Elementary School, Norfeld Colony Elementary School, Norfeld Colony High School, Northern Plains Biostress Laboratory, Old Horticulture Building, Performing Arts Center, Physiology Laboratory, Plant Science Building, Pugsley Continuing Education Center, Rolland Colony Elementary School, Saint Thomas School, Scobey Hall, Sioux Valley Elementary School, Sioux Valley High School, Sioux Valley Middle School, Solberg Hall, Sorenson Center, South Dakota State University, South Dakota State University Foundation Building, Stanley J Marshall Health Physical Education and Recreation Center, Tompkins Alumni Center, Volga Christian Elementary School, Wagner Hall, Wecota Hall, Wenona Hall, West Hall, West Headhouse and Greenhouse, Wheat Commission Greenhouse, Wintrode Student Center, Woodbine Cottage, Yeager Hall

  Streams     show all on map

Deer Creek, Deer Creek, Lake Campbell Outlet, North Deer Creek, Peg Munky Run, Sixmile Creek

  Swamps     show all on map

Black Slough

  Towers     show all on map

KBRK-AM (Brookings), KGKG-FM (Brookings), KJJQ-AM (Volga), KKQQ-FM (Volga)

  Woods     show all on map

Gilleys Grove, Hidewoods, Hushers Grove,

Brookings County, South Dakota Population By Race (2012 estimate)

WhiteBrookings County White population 30,49130,491  
AsianBrookings County Asian population 914914
MixedBrookings County Mixed population 424424
American IndianBrookings County American Indian population 392391
Hawaiian & Pacific IslanderBrookings County Hawaiian & Pacific Islander population 3332

Additional population tables :
State population table
South Dakota population by county